DROP(ping into place.)

Hello, all. I hope you’ve had a wonderful holiday season. Merry Christmas Eve to those who celebrate, happy Tuesday to those who don’t 🙂 It’s not much, but for everyone who has been following the Making of the Gatsby, I have something small for you. I hope you’ll like it.

One week from now – on December 31st, at 3 PM UTC / 7 AM PST / 10 AM EST / 3 PM GMT / 11 PM CST – we will have the first Gatsby drop. The second will be on January 1st, at 3 AM UTC/ 7 PM PST / 10 PM EST / 3 AM GMT / 11 AM CST.

The release will be split into two drops for consideration of those in different timezones. Plus, if you don’t score on the first drop, you’ll have a second chance 12 hours later! Limit one per customer, please.

From the bottom of my heart, thank you all for following along.

From the Dining Table

For the night owls… Ol’ Saint Nick came by and dropped these off for me. Just kidding, it was DHL.

I snuck in some time before work to start assembly and my personal quality checks, though I’m sure they’ll all be faultless, coming from Jordy. So far, so good! They spin like a silky dream with HC3Zs installed. Combined with the polished finish and the radiant spin effect, it’s basically a personal light show that also feels like a smooth cloud. So I guess a thunderstorm?

Drop announcement coming tomorrow morning!

Lights Up on the Gatsby

When you have the time, take a gander at the latest piece of media featuring the Gatsby. This is a video about first impressions, presented by Average Singaporean, winner of the 2018 Spinnie Awards’ Best Reviewer. Thank you, Ben!

And since we’re all here anyway, let me squeeze in a little update. All finishing touches on the Gatsby were finished last Saturday and the entire run will be shipping to me today or tomorrow! From there, it’s just a matter of mixing sugar, spice, and everything nice. I will have exact drop dates and pricing for you once I’m certain, but my estimate right now is New Year’s and a bit under $150 USD, respectively. Thank you for bearing with me, I’m just loathe to make promises I can’t keep. And, of course, thank you for following along.

Gatsby ex machina.

Hello, hope your Saturday is going well. As you may know, machining started a couple days ago and I thought I’d share some pictures with you. If you’d like, follow on Instagram, @everecarre . I post pictures of progress there, too, but most will likely end up on this blog anyway, so no pressure.

Everything is right on schedule. I can’t promise a drop date of New Year’s Day, but that would be cool, wouldn’t it?

Gatsby in the machine.

If you celebrated Thanksgiving, hope you had a great one! And if you didn’t, hope you had a great Thursday! It’s been raining cats and dogs here in the Bay Area, but I’ve been kept afloat by the festivities of the holiday season. Plus, machining of the Gatsby has started.

I’m pleased to announce that the Gatsby will be machined in British Columbia by the talented Jordy Wallace of FocusWorks EDC. If you’re not familiar with his work already, here are a couple examples:

The Supercollider hand spinner.
The Eryx F1 flashlight.

Jordy has also been machining spinners for a little over three years now and tops for over four. As you can see, he is no stranger to tough projects and I have complete faith in him when it comes to machining the Gatsby. Production will be done in 2-4 weeks. Here’s an in-progress picture for you:

And if that wasn’t enough to make you want one, I’ll also be getting bearings from a mainstay of the spinner community – FZEssentials. Each Gatsby will be using a hybrid ceramic stainless steel r188 bearing – the HC3z. Its sister bearing, the HC3, was used by the Guinness world record holder for longest spin time while balanced on one finger!

I chose the Hc3z in particular because of its spin feedback, tight tolerances, and because it’s known to reduce the judder in bar spinners when they rotate out of their plane. Since the Gatsby’s design throws weight outwards and therefore would increase judder, the HC3 series is a perfect complement for its spin. The “z” variant uses white ZrO2 ball bearings rather than the black Si3N4 ball bearings used in the standard HC3. I chose to use the HC3z because in my experience, ZrO2 bearings provide smooth feedback that is akin to an electrical hum. In comparison, Si3N4 bearings are more rumbly and a bit longer spinning. In both functionality and looks, I think the Hc3z suits Gatsby best.

I hope you’re all as excited to see this come together as I am. As always, thanks for following along.

Specifications
Material: 655 Silicon Bronze
Dimensions: 45mm x 20mm x 12mm
Button height: 13.75mm
Button diameter: 20mm
Bearing: R188 HC3z